Reflections

I’m reflecting on the lofty goals I set for myself and wondering if/when I may reach them. Let’s revisit my 2013 goals:

1-Get in the best shape of my life!
Update: Probably not the best goal for this year, seeing as how I had a baby 3 months ago, but I am back to my pre-pregnancy weight. It’s amazing though, you’d think everything would fit again, but it doesn’t. Your body restructures into a new shape once you have a baby, kiss your abs goodbye for a while post c-section too. I did take a personal training course and learned a lot that I will apply soon now that I’m getting more of a schedule now. We’ve switched to ‘clean’ eating in our household too, so NO processed foods. Before the year-end I want to do Insanity again, that’s when I was the most toned, right after the program! I’m learning not to be so hard on myself.

2-Learn to sew new projects, especially for baby:)
Update: I have sewed a few projects: burp cloths, headband, skirts, and a baby robe. I don’t think sewing is my passion, but it’s definitely a good skill to have and teach you little ones.

3-Write an online dating book for Christians
Update: Somewhere between pregnancy, having a newborn, and Ben working and going to school full-time, this project gets a lower priority now. We do still hope to write this book someday, perhaps after Ben is finished with school, we’ll have to discuss.

4-Write a blog
Update: Can’t really check this one off my list yet either, see as how I haven’t written since January:0) I would like to write more and keep track of lessons learned as a Wife, Mom, and Pastor’s Wife. I am encouraged when I read the stories of others and want to serve as an encouragement to readers as well.

5-Become an excellent Mom and preacher’s wife:-)
Update: This goal is totally unmeasurable. I have lots of room for improvement in both of these areas. I’m learning how to be a Mom and simply doing the best I can. I’ve made a few good friends in Hamilton who are moms as well and I’m going to start attending a moms bible study group called MOPS that meets every other Friday. I’ve learned it’s vital to have friends to ‘do life with’ so I’m cultivating some relationships now. Hannah and I go swim once a week and we’ve met some other moms and babies there as well. As far as being an excellent preacher’s wife, I’m learning tons from experience and others who have walked in my shoes. I was recently asked by my doctor if I feel the ‘fishbowl effect’ like everyone is watching our family. I think to some degree, yes, every preacher’s wife has to learn to coupe with the fact your family is held to a higher standard. If I could impart wisdom on other preacher’s wives I’d say the following:

1-PRAY and STUDY scripture both with just you and The Lord and as a family.

2-Don’t take things personally, but also have ‘thick and thin’ skin.

3-Remember my role is a supporting one. I support my husband who is the pastor. If I want to volunteer in the nursery or greet newcomers, that’s one thing, but it’s not expected of me.

4-Make friends outside the church too.

5-Finally, and I’ve learned this lesson the hard way, ‘Limit contact with poisonous people.’ I read this from another blogger. You become like those you spend time with so be cautious.

Leave a comment